«

»

Jan 14 2014

Mississippi Makes Moves to Track Ammo, Limit Self Defense

pqbmdbwcmj0nulhiprqs

Mississippi is generally known for its support of the Second Amendment and the right to self defense. However, the last few days have seen two new and dangerous gun control bills enter the state House – House Bill 231 and House Bill 179.

HB 231, introduced by Mississippi Representative Omeria Scott (D-District 80), proposes requiring firearms dealers and pawn brokers to keep extensive records on ammunition sales – including but not limited to the purchaser’s name, driver’s license, address, and social security number. It also requires all this information to be open to the public. Also in the record, sellers need to keep track of the caliber, number of rounds, a description of the rounds, and the date of sale. Violation would result in a misdemeanor charge and a hefty fine anywhere from $100 to $1000. The bill also amends current law to restrict all firearm and ammunition sales to persons aged 18 and older. A violation of this section can get you a $1000 fine and a year in prison.

Of course, privacy is a big concern and a constitutional right. A lot can be done with a name, address, and social security number – especially if someone has an agenda. Such public knowledge could easily make individual gun owners a target. A similar blunder in New York also led to gun free homes falling victim to break-ins and theft.

HB 179 is a little different in that it seeks to amend the state’s robust self defense laws. In 2006, Governor Haley Barbour (R) signed into law Senate Bill 2426, also known as Castle Doctrine. Several other states have similar laws, in that self defense by any means necessary is perfectly acceptable if someone is breaking into your home, car, or place of work and risk is imminent. It also provides protections for people who have used deadly force in the name of self defense.

The amendments proposed by Rep. Deborah Dixon (D-District 63) in HB 179 seek to remove some of those protections. Her bill outlines quite clearly can and cannot, under rule of law, defend themselves. Police and other law enforcement are protected in any and all circumstances. Home and business owners are protected, so long as the aggressor is on the “immediate premises.” “Immediate premises” is defined as being within 30 feet of the nearest entrance or threshold. So if someone points a gun at someone from 30 feet away, the individual will, by law, be unable to defend themselves. Further, those who have acted in self defense – regardless of the 30 foot rule – must immediately undergo a drug test to prove sobriety.

The original 2006 Castle Law holds a special clause for when apprehending someone who has committed a felony against your person. The new bill does not.

Both bills request an enforcement date of July 1, 2014. 54% of households across the state have at least one firearm in the home. The state requires permits for concealed weapons but otherwise follows a constitutional right for self defense.

1 ping

  1. Florida Constitutional Carry - Page 3

    […] of the land here. It is upholding the State Constitution of 1872 Hate to burst your bubble ned butMississippi Makes Moves to Track Ammo, Limit Self Defense seems that Mississippi is going the leftests […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>